Family

A Letter to My Daughter

Dear Lucia,

I want you to know that being your mom is the best thing that has ever happened to me. You have shown me what love and happiness really look like. I’ve dreamt of you long before you were born, but I never could have fathomed just how precious and delightful you are. You have a smile that is pure and infectious, and joy radiating out of you.

From day one you’ve had your daddy’s eyes. He is pretty awesome in case you ever forget. He is kind, generous, loving, hard working, funny, and most of all committed. He is committed to this life with us and is always on our team. I know you don’t know this now, but you hit the jackpot with him.

kyle-and-lucia

When you smile at me knowing I am your momma, my heart can barely stand it. Our days are pretty mundane right now, but I wouldn’t trade it for the world. Each day I get to spend with you feels like a gift. When I pick you up in the morning, you’ll pat my back and it feels like you’re telling me “good job momma”.

Even though I sometimes can feel overwhelmed at this new role of momma, I miss you when we are apart. I use to talk to your dad and debate waking you up sometimes just so I could see you smile. You are the best part of every day.

becky-lucia

I know this world can be confusing and scary sometimes but here a few things I hope you will remember.

You don’t have to work for God’s love. It is unwavering and it’s a sure bet. Every time.

You are enough. Be kind to yourself.

Most of the time, people really are trying to do their best. Have grace for others.

Don’t be in too big of a rush. This life goes by so fast. Try to slow down and really be present. The future will be here soon enough.

Your dad and I are on your team. There is nothing you can do that will change that. We are a family and we’re here for you. Always.

Everyone is significant. Treat people with kindness and respect. Your friends. Strangers. Family. They all have stories too.

Don’t forget to laugh. Laughter is the only thing that’ll keep you sane.

Before you were born we were a couple, but now we really are a family. There’s no more hypothetical “someday when we have kids”. Every day your dad and I look at each other and are still so amazed that you’re our daughter and you’re really here.

img_9688

I can’t believe how much you have already taught me in these first 6 months. You’ve taught me to slow down when I want to rush. You’ve brought so much joy to my life that I didn’t know was possible. As you grow up I hope you feel the love and support we have for you. I don’t want to try and make you into anything or add pressure to you. I truly just want to be a part of your life and see who you become. I’m so glad I’m getting a front row seat to your story. I’ve been waiting my whole life for this.

You are so deeply loved baby. We’re a team.

Always.

 

Love,
Momma

Leave a Reply

