Fun

What I’m Reading

I don’t like to make “resolutions” because I feel like I’m setting myself up for failure, but one of my goals for 2017 is to read more. I think at least one book a month is doable, but hopefully more!

Processed with VSCO with s3 preset

Here is what’s on my to read list for the next few months.

Talking as Fast as I Can – Lauren Graham

Why I’m excited about it: This was my January book and I’m just a few pages from the end. I  have loved Gilmore Girls from the start (did you see the revival?!) and fell in love with Parenthood too. One of the great things about the book is that  you get a glimpse into the fond memories of her career and personal life. Hello – my favorite thing.

The Gifts of Imperfection – Brene Brown

Why I’m excited about it: I like to think that Brene Brown is my spirit animal. If you don’t know who she is watch her incredible TED Talk here. She’s just great so that gets me excited, but I’ve often considered myself a reverse perfectionist. I think of a perfectionist as someone who tries so hard to do everything perfectly, where as if I know I can’t do something perfect I don’t even make an attempt. It’s that same fear of being imperfect I guess.

Simply Tuesday – Emily P. Freeman

Why I’m excited about it: I love reading her blog and this book speaks to something I need to work on. The tag line is “small-moment living in a fast-moving world”. Don’t we all need that? Especially in this season of staying home with Lucia, I want to slow down and really see the small moments that can get overlooked in the daily hustle.

The Reason for God – Timothy Keller

Why I’m excited about it: I’ve had this book in my cabinet for a couple years now, but I feel like more than ever I need this lesson now. If I’m being honest, I’ve got some questions about my faith. I’ve started reading it and already like that he seems very factual and biblical.

Man’s Search for Meaning – Viktor Frankl

Why I’m excited about it: I first heard about Viktor Frankl from Don Miller. Frankl’s theory is that what drives us is what we individually find meaningful. I agree  with that and am interested to learn more. Also it’s a memoir so I’m so interested to read about his life (he was a Holocaust survivor and psychiatrist).

15 Invaluable Laws of Growth – John C. Maxwell

Why I’m excited about it: I like a list and I like personal growth. I started this book awhile ago but never finished it. I remember him talking about how we have this idea that when we are finished with our schooling years it is completely up to us to keep learning. I’m going to have my highlighter handy for this one.

I love to read but haven’t made it as much of a priority. 2017 means new year, new challenges. Maybe I’ll do a giveaway of one of these books soon. Which would you be interested in?

I’d love to know what you’re reading!

4 thoughts on “What I’m Reading

  1. Hey there! One thing I really like that you do with reading is that you have a mixture of entertainment reading and personal growth. I think society has us too worked up over achieving perfection that we DO miss out on the small moments that make up our life. The old adage of “take time to smell the roses” is almost a lost art in this day and age. Growth around us and in us is seldom something that can be quickly seen but it does happen…it just takes time. I applaud your endeavor to make the most of the time you have. Very sage advice to all ages!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

